Skip to toolbar

Guide to Using Halal Vitamins and Food Supplements

When most people think of Halal, they think of food. But Halal is about a lot more than just food, and when you want to commit to Halal living, you should be considering every aspect of your life.

That includes any supplements or vitamins that you’re taking.

Just like the food you eat, every ingredient in your supplements must meet Halal standards. That way you can feel confident that you are following Halal.

This issue is near and dear to many Muslims and can be a reason that some Muslims don’t use supplements at all. But the need to follow Halal shouldn’t be a reason that you can’t take supplements to improve your health.

This article will cover different ways you can ensure that your vitamins and supplements are Halal.

 

Choosing Supplements:

There are a couple of considerations when you are choosing supplements to follow Halal. The two ingredients that are usually the most problematic are alcohol and gelatin or glycerin.

One option is to carefully read through your ingredient list to determine whether the ingredients are halal. That means no alcohol, including ethanol. Gelatin and glycerin are trickier, the easiest trick is to make sure the supplement only uses vegetable sources of gelatin and glycerin.

We’ll go into both ingredients and how to pick good supplements in more detail in a moment. But there is another option instead of reading the ingredient list every time you buy a new supplement.

Instead, you could simply Buy Halal vitamins.

Buying Halal certified vitamins and supplements ensures that every ingredient follows Halal. It can also be the best option because manufacturers with that certification have to meet strict quality standards that ensure every part of manufacturing is Halal compliant.

 

Alcohol in Supplements

Alcohol is most common in liquid supplements and even some cold and sleep medications. It’s used because it can be difficult to get some vitamins and minerals to dissolve into water or water-based solvents.

Vitamin D tinctures and liquid supplements are some of the biggest offenders when it comes to including alcohol in their formulation. But any liquid or gummy supplement should be carefully checked for alcohol and ethanol content.

There are usually alternatives for supplements containing alcohol, and those alternatives may be available in both pill or liquid form.

 

Gelatin/Glycerin

Gelatin and glycerin can be included in your supplement and still meet Halal standards. However, you have to have some information about how that gelatin or glycerin was sourced, so you may need to do a little extra research if the supplement isn’t halal certified.

Acceptable sources of gelatin and glycerin are vegetable and bovine. Vegetable sources are always okay, but only some bovine sources meet Halal standards.

Remember, that the cows have to have lived and been slaughtered using Halal acceptable methods for the glycerin or gelatin to be Halal. Many manufacturers will disclose whether their sourcing is Halal approved (often in the same area that they disclose whether their supplements are Kosher), but it isn’t universal.

If you can’t find the information you need to verify whether the supplement is Halal, and it contains bovine glycerin or gelatin, it’s better to assume that the supplement isn’t Halal and to choose a different brand.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Viral Rang
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general